Celebrating 130 years of selling candy and making legendary Texan confections! Five stores in Austin and worldwide shipping available to serve you. Lammes Candies, now in its second century of candy making, was founded by William Wirt Lamme in 1878. Originally called the Red Front Candy Factory, the store was located in the 800 block of Congress Avenue - the main business street in Austin, Texas. Although William Lamme lost the business in a poker game in 1885, his son, David Turner Lamme, Sr., came to Austin to repay the gambling debt of $800 and reclaim the store as his own.
On July 10, 1885, Lammes Candies officially opened and has been family owned and operated ever since. After a few years, the store was moved to a new location at 919 Congress Avenue where it remained until 1956.
During the early years, Lammes mainly sold ice cream and gem (a frozen fruit dessert made from whole milk, similar to sherbet). Horse-drawn wagons made their way up Congress Avenue from the rail station emblazoned with: "Another carload of ice-cream cartons for Lammes." Sugar rationing during World War II caused Gem and ice cream to be phased out; however, soon after the end of the war, ice cream and Gem were started up again. Unfortunately, neither gained much popularity. In 1965, David Lamme Teich discontinued production of the ice cream and Gem and expanded into the production of chocolates.
David Turner Lamme The company's current bestseller, the world famous "Texas Chewie Pecan Pra